Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005 and Newer : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Cannot See Data Source Object in Database Expert Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
tehhz
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 May 2007
Location: Singapore
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Quote tehhz Replybullet Topic: Cannot See Data Source Object in Database Expert
    Posted: 29 May 2007 at 8:23pm
Hi all,

Forgive me if my post is too long. (this is my first post)

I have a problem using Data Source Objects as .NET objects in other projects under Visual Studio 2005.

Assuming all required classes are compiled as DLL and imported into projects successfully.

I have a Project called Bank.UC. Inside this project, it contains many classes like Account, Employees, etc. This class is linked to Bank.DC, that deals with connecting to SQL Server 2005 database to fetch the data. All the data is filled into DataSet and returned as DataSet. (Assuming no errors when connecting the database and retrieving the required data.) When it comes back to Bank.UC, the objects would get its data from DC and return as class objects.

Then I created another project called Reports and added Bank.UC into Data Source. I was able to see the Bank.UC and its classes and variables associated with classes. For example:

Bank.UC (Class Library)
-> Account (Class name created in Bank.UC)
  -> Name (variable)
  -> AccountNo (variable)
  -> Value (variable)

However, I was not able to drag the variables into my created Crystal Report. The Bank.UC object is also not visible under .NET Objects in Database Expert under Field Explorer. The project to view the Crystal Report is of Windows Application.

I also do not want Crystal Report to prompt for login particulars as all database connection information and login information is stored in App.config.

Any solutions to this problem is greatly appreciated.

Brian Teh.

IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 30 May 2007 at 4:49pm
This is because Bank.UC is an object.  Crystal is expecting a DataSource.  So, you would probably need to link to Bank.DC.  Another option might be to serialize your Bank.UC object and report off of the XML - I haven't done this, so I don't know for sure if it will get you what you need.
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
ybritol
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Quote ybritol Replybullet Posted: 19 Aug 2009 at 10:29am
Hi Brian,

I am having I think the same problem.
I have a DLL with contains all my entities, but the Database Expert is not showing the objects.

Did you find any solution to your problem?

If so, can you give me a hint?

Thank you so much.

Yandy
Yandy
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.