Please confirm:
When you make some changes to formulas, record selection in the editor and hit Save & Close at the top left, you make changes to the settings in the .RPT file you're working on, but you don't save this file back to where you just opened it from until you do the save, also near the top left of the GUI
I've being doing this for 9 years! It's just opening a big, crucial & complex bank report of someone else's in the repository, wanting to change some criteria and run it, see how it works, then close it. When I see that save & close button it's worrying. Have I been saving these changes to disk all these years? And not really known?
The developers should make those save icons distinct - not floppy disks...