Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2022 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Saving Changes Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
mikebird
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 70
Quote mikebird Replybullet Topic: Saving Changes
     Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 4:57am
Please confirm:

When you make some changes to formulas, record selection in the editor and hit Save & Close at the top left, you make changes to the settings in the .RPT file you're working on, but you don't save this file back to where you just opened it from until you do the save, also near the top left of the GUI

I've being doing this for 9 years! It's just opening a big, crucial & complex bank report of someone else's in the repository, wanting to change some criteria and run it, see how it works, then close it. When I see that save & close button it's worrying. Have I been saving these changes to disk all these years? And not really known?

The developers should make those save icons distinct - not floppy disks...
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3702
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 26 Mar 2008 at 3:17pm
When you click on Save & Close, it saves the formula changes to the version of the report that's in memory, not to the disk. 
 
Something you could do to help prevent the worry would be to save a "working copy" of the report with a different file name and work there.  That way you're not making any changes to the published version of the file.
 
-Dell


Edited by hilfy - 26 Mar 2008 at 3:18pm
IP IP Logged
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum