Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Errors when moving report from development environ Post Reply Post New Topic
Dreaming

Online Status: Offline
Quote Dreaming Replybullet Topic: Errors when moving report from development environ
    Posted: 19 Feb 2010 at 8:30am
Hi,

I'm new to CR and I have no background developing for it, but I've recently created a report with some fairly intricate expressions on-board.  The report runs smooth as glass in my development environment, but breaks once I move it out to production clients. 

I thought at first that it had to do with improperly mapping to the correct database, but I tested this by moving working reports from the production side, back into development, and they ran without a hiccup.  It seems both spheres are contacting the same database.  I have no background in server admin so I'm not going to try to figure that out.  Regardless, reports that do nothing more than display fields can be moved back and forth between development and production seamlessly.  Mine, however, cannot.

This is the error code I get when running the report on a client:

Error:515 Error in formula <French_File_Name>
Execute <PEStartPrintJob>
Contact your system administrator for assistance.

Make sure that you have an ODBC data source called DATA_BASE configured on your machine and you can access database DATABASE001 on server SERVER01.

The formula named in the error is this:

LOCAL StringVar Array SplitFileName;

IF INSTR({COM_VOLUME_LABEL_VIEW.pd_file_name},"|") = 0 THEN
  TOTEXT(TRIM({COM_VOLUME_LABEL_VIEW.pd_file_name}))
ELSE
  (
  SplitFileName := SPLIT({COM_VOLUME_LABEL_VIEW.pd_file_name},"|");
  TOTEXT(TRIM(SplitFileName[2]))
  );