Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2016 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Failed to load database information Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
Vilariņo
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Sep 2007
Location: Brazil
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Quote Vilariņo Replybullet Topic: Failed to load database information
    Posted: 03 Mar 2009 at 9:58am
Received the following error message:

Error in File Relatorio4: Failed to load database information.

Or

Error
Failed to open the connection. Relatorio4 Details: [Database Vendor Code:
12154 ]

I'm trying to run a report Crystal Reports 2008 in Crystal Reports Server 2008.

I use the native driver for Oracle (Oracle Server).

Server Configuration:

Windows Server 2003 R2 64bist.
Crystal Reports Server 2008
Client Oracle Server 10

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3665
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 09 Mar 2009 at 12:00pm
Is the Oracle client installed on the server where Crystal Reports Server is running?  If so, does the tnsnames.ora file there contain a connection to the correct database?
 
Crystal's native Oracle driver provides a means for Crystal to connect to the Oracle client software - it's not a replacement for the Oracle client.
 
-Dell
Proviti, Data & Analytics Practice
9-Time SAP BusinessObjects Partner of the Year.
www.protiviti.com/US-en/data-management-advanced-analytics
IP IP Logged
Divi_2010
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote Divi_2010 Replybullet Posted: 06 Apr 2011 at 10:22am
Hi,

I am getting a similar error. The env we use is

BO XI SP3
crystal reports 2008
Windows 2003 Server 64 bit
The database is Oracle 9i
The Oracle client is 10g(10.2.0).

We are migrating the reports from XIr2 to 3.1. When I try to run the migrated crystal report in 3.1 Infoview, we are getting the error as "Failed to load Database Connection". whereas the same report works fine in the CR Designer. We are using Oracle Server Connection in r2. The same works fine in Designer. But when I change the connection to ODBC and save the report back to enterprise it works fine. But we want to use the Oracle Server Connection.

I tried to give the default print settings as you had suggested. But it's not getting resolved.

It would be great if you can help me out in this.

Thanks in advance
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3665
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 06 Apr 2011 at 10:55am
You need to make sure that you have the 32-bit Oracle client installed on the server where BusinessObjects is running.  Even though you have a 64-bit server, BO can only interact with the 32-bit version of the database client software.
 
-Dell
Proviti, Data & Analytics Practice
9-Time SAP BusinessObjects Partner of the Year.
www.protiviti.com/US-en/data-management-advanced-analytics
IP IP Logged
Divi_2010
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote Divi_2010 Replybullet Posted: 06 Apr 2011 at 11:01am

I have installed the 32 bit oracle 10g client only.

IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3665
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 06 Apr 2011 at 11:22am
Is the TNSNames file set up the same?  Can you call tnsping from a DOS prompt and connect to the database?  I assume the answer to both of these is yes because you can connect via ODBC.
 
Do you have more than one Oracle Home?  The native Oracle connection from Crystal will only see the first home.
 
BTW, this has nothing to do with the print settings...
 
-Dell
Proviti, Data & Analytics Practice
9-Time SAP BusinessObjects Partner of the Year.
www.protiviti.com/US-en/data-management-advanced-analytics
IP IP Logged
Divi_2010
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote Divi_2010 Replybullet Posted: 06 Apr 2011 at 11:25am
Yes I can connect to the DB and I have only one Oracle home :(
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.