Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Can't connect to SQL server Post Reply Post New Topic
MaryFran

Online Status: Offline
Quote MaryFran Replybullet Topic: Can't connect to SQL server
    Posted: 15 Feb 2009 at 12:00pm
I am a novice Crystal and SQL user, but have a SQL Server Express 2008 database connection established and am trying to reach that connection through my newly installed Crystal Reports. I connect to SQL using Windows Authentication, but Crystal is asking me for a UserName and Password in order to make a connection.  Can someone help me get started here, please?  I would be much obliged!
IP IP Logged
rahulwalawalkar

Quote rahulwalawalkar Replybullet Posted: 16 Feb 2009 at 2:54am
Hi
Can you login in SQL Server Express 2008 database using Windows Authentication first try that .......if not then try SQL Server Authentication......

Then what type of connection you are using from Crystal to connect to Sql 2008 database i.e. OLEDB or ODBC......

Cheers
Rahul
IP IP Logged
MaryFran

Quote MaryFran Replybullet Posted: 16 Feb 2009 at 5:44am

I already can and do login to SQL through Windows authentication.  I don't know how to login using SQL Server authentication, as I don't know a UserID or Password.  I've tried by OLEDB and ODBC, but in both cases they're looking for a userid and password.

IP IP Logged
MaryFran

Quote MaryFran Replybullet Posted: 23 Feb 2009 at 11:13am
Update to previous post - I was able to make a connection by adding \SQLEXPRESS to the end of the server name and choosing my database when it came up in the dropdown.  But when I try to expand the nodes I get "object or provider is not capable of performing requested operation" - which I don't understand, but I do know that I can go into SQL Server Management and update the database just fine (it uses Windows Authorization, as mentioned earlier).  Can ANYONE tell me what I need?  Very frustrated!
IP IP Logged