Talk with the Author
 Crystal Reports Forum : General Information : Talk with the Author
Message Icon Topic: Crystal Reports Application Post Reply Post New Topic
chitemerere

Online Status: Offline
Quote chitemerere Replybullet Topic: Crystal Reports Application
    Posted: 06 Jul 2008 at 1:54pm

I am new to programming.  I am writing an application in Visual Basic using Visual Studio 2008.  I am trying to create an embedded crystal report within a project which will be used by my main application as an .exe program.  My simple code for this embedded report is as follows:

Imports CrystalDecisions.CrystalReports.Engine

Imports CrystalDecisions.Shared

Public Class Form1

Private TypeIIDMFsReport As ReportDocument

Private Sub ConfigureCrystalReports()

TypeIIDMFsReport = New ReportDocument

Dim reportPath As String = Application.StartupPath _

& "\" & "TypeIIDMFsReport.rpt"

TypeIIDMFsReport.Load(reportPath)

myCrystalReportViewer.ReportSource = TypeIIDMFsReport

End Sub

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

ConfigureCrystalReports()

End Sub

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

ConfigureCrystalReports()

End Sub

End Class

I tested the application by putting the report in the bin\debug folder, running it and works well

The build action property of the report has been set to embedded resource.  I have added a setup project for the windows application which i then built.  However, i am getting a report load exception, specified file cannot be located.  I thought that at compile time, the report is copied to the same folder as my application's .exe file?

Can someone please assist me with what i need to do to resolve this exception.

Many thanks and kind regards.
Chris
IP IP Logged
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote BrianBischof Replybullet Posted: 08 Jul 2008 at 8:26pm