Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005 and Newer : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Crystal Reports XI - offer info and a question! Post Reply Post New Topic
DreamState

Online Status: Offline
Quote DreamState Replybullet Topic: Crystal Reports XI - offer info and a question!
    Posted: 14 Mar 2007 at 12:19pm
Hi,

I just wondered if anyone could clear up how the .net api's work.

I was reading this post....

http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=306

...and I was really interested in the upgrade mainly because the type of reports I create are often big and the VS IDE is pretty annoying to use.

I followed the link but was unable to buy it as I am a UK resident Cry

Sooo, I phoned Business Objects and finally spoke to someone who emailed the offer to me. £59 plus VAT for an upgrade to Crystal Reports XI Developer edition (for us Visual Studio users). Very happy. Includes some server stuff as well but I am not interested in that at the moment.

(Here is the link for UK users who are interested....)

http://preferences.businessobjects.com/cgi-bin24/DM/y/hcqb0HbyUa0F7q0BNsB0Ev

First I followed their download links and downloaded 600mb. Found out this was Release 1 and you need Release 2 for VS2005 compatibility. Downloaded a further 900mb Angry.

My question is...

As I have already used the bundled CR and distributed my app, will the .net runtimes that come with VS2005 (ie. Crystal Reports for .NET 2.0) which is already installed on client machines automatically handle the CRXI report format if I start using CRXI to design my reports? Or would clients need to reinstall my app with the new stuff that CRXI Developer installs?

Does that make sense?

Thanks,

Jon.

Edited by DreamState - 14 Mar 2007 at 12:23pm
IP IP Logged
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote BrianBischof Replybullet Posted: 14 Mar 2007 at 1:34pm