Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Comparing data from 2 SQL queries Post Reply Post New Topic
_Bash_

Online Status: Offline
Quote _Bash_ Replybullet Topic: Comparing data from 2 SQL queries
    Posted: 23 Jan 2014 at 3:10am
Hi,

I'm getting better but I'm still quite new to Crystal Reports (using 2008). Here's what I need to do :

I need to make a report that compares 2 lists of items from some projects. Could be a list of items from project version A to B or a list or items from 2 different projects. I then need to show the differences between the first and second list (this item has been added/removed, that item's quantity has gone up/down by x). The user has to enter the informations concerning both projects to compare.

I was wondering if I can do that using only Crystal Reports or if I need to create a stored procedure or something like that.

Any help would be welcomed.

Thanks !
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 23 Jan 2014 at 6:03am
I think that the issues would revolve around how the 2 lists are joined and if duplication is likely. If there is always a 1 to 1 correspondence between the 2 list, you can probably do it all in Crystal with a full join (that would give you added/deleted items as well as the changes).

I would do it in stored proc, but I prefer to all my reporting in a stored proc.

HTH
IP IP Logged
_Bash_

Quote _Bash_ Replybullet Posted: 23 Jan 2014 at 6:17am
Well all the data from both queries are from the same tables and same fields. It's the same query with 2 different sets of parameters and I want to compare both results and display the differences.

The main table looks like this:

ListNb
RevNb
ItemNb
Qty

The user enters both List numbers and rev numbers he wants. This will generate 2 sets of item numbers and I want to compare the difference between those two lists.