Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2016 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Display page header in drill down Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
bacham
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote bacham Replybullet Topic: Display page header in drill down
    Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 7:13am
I have a simple table report with a single group. For each column, I have a summary field. I hid the "Details" section using "Hide (drill down OK). So the top level of my report displays the groups with the summary information for each column. When I click on any line in the column, I get to the details for that particular line.

My problem is that the details page does not list the page header. This makes it difficult for the user to figure out what each column means (unless he has a good memory or constantly switches back and forth between details and summary).

Any ideas how I could display the page header in the details section? If I just add a header in the details section, the header gets repeated for each row.

Hicham
IP IP Logged
rahulwalawalkar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 731
Quote rahulwalawalkar Replybullet Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 7:38am
Hi
This is what needs to be done
 
Right Click the existing Group Header and Insert Section Below it will create a New Group header GH1B .
 
Place all the labels from Page Header in the newly created GH1B .
 
Then right Click GH1B Select Section Expert then go to Common Tab and Click X+2 next to Suppress(No Drill Down) and enter the code below
 
DrillDownGroupLevel = 0
 
 
 
Cheers
Rahul


Edited by rahulwalawalkar - 10 Jun 2009 at 7:39am
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8774
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 7:56am
You can also use this option (maybe in conjunction with Rahul's suggestion).
Go to File and select Report Options
There is an option for "Show All Headers on Drill Down".
If you mark this as TRUE all of the headers(and footers) will continue to appear as you drill down.
Somethimes this gets to be too much infomration and you will need to incorporate some of the conditional suppression functionality using the DrillDownGroupLevel option that Rahul suggested.
IP IP Logged
bacham
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote bacham Replybullet Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 8:40am
Thanks a lot Rahul! It worked.

Hicham
IP IP Logged
bacham
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Quote bacham Replybullet Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 8:45am
Hi DBlank,

I also tried your suggestion as it seems to be simpler. Unfortunately, after I check the box and dismiss the Report Options dialog, I get an error dialog saying (translating from french):

"Invalid argument. Details: Please choose a Java Bean Class"

I'm not exactly sure how my data source works as Crystal Reports is integrated with another product that seems to generate the data source on the fly and pass it to Crystal (I suppose as a Java Bean based on this message).

Any ideas?

Hicham
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8774
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 10 Jun 2009 at 9:38am
Haven't heard of that causing any problems before. Too bad it does not work. It can come in handy if you use drill downs frequently.
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.