Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Mailing Labels and Removing Duplicates Post Reply Post New Topic
Butterfly_Joe

Online Status: Offline
Quote Butterfly_Joe Replybullet Topic: Mailing Labels and Removing Duplicates
    Posted: 04 Feb 2009 at 3:27pm
Hello, I am new to Crystal Reports and after finding this site, it looks like there is a plethora of advice that can help me get started playing around with Crystal reports. But let's get down to business.

I am creating a report to pull mailing information from an ODBC database and since I am very new to Crystal Reports (ver 10), I used the Wizard to accomplish my task. Everything worked perfectly, however, this mailing list can, at times, have duplicate information (addressee, address line 1, address line 2, city/state/zip). The layout of the mailing labels (avery 5160) is as such:

Addressee               <--Only database field
Address Line 1       <--Only database field
Address Line 2       <--Only database field
City, State ZIP        <--Text box with the three database paths inside

Now, I read about the Crystal Syntax to suppress duplicate fields by comparing information to previously populated information, which works when applied to the Addressee, Address Line 1, and Address Line 2, however, I cannot apply that formula to the City, State ZIP text field because it would suppress MOST of the fields, since the addressees live in similar locations.

So, my question is, would there be any way to tell the report that when ALL four lines are replicated in the report, to only display one of them?

Thanks for any help!
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 04 Feb 2009 at 9:12pm