Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Problem with CR for VS connecting sql 2005 express Post Reply Post New Topic
Edmund-B

Online Status: Offline
Quote Edmund-B Replybullet Topic: Problem with CR for VS connecting sql 2005 express
    Posted: 04 Aug 2008 at 2:20am
I'm not a programmer. i'm actually a system analyst trying to get the most i can to prototype my systems into asp.net

I have a database made with sql server 2005 express that comes along with visual studio 2005. when i attempt to create a new crystal report, i tried to connect using the wizard. apparently i cannot find how to connect to my database so i can retrieve my data.

after roaming around for some time on the net, i found out that i should be creating an OLE DB (ADO) connection. i supplied the following information

Server : EDMUND-PC\SQLEXPRESS
Integrated security : true

how ever, i cannot see my database in the list of databases. only 3 called Master, Msdb, and tempdb. none of them contain my database tables.

also when i leave the database field blank, it returns the Master database which is irrelevant.

Any ideas?
IP IP Logged
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote BrianBischof Replybullet Posted: 04 Aug 2008 at 11:08am
You definitely need to see those databases in your list. The problem is that your user ID doesn't have access to them. Your ID must not be in the group list of those allowed to use the data. Talk to the db administrator to get it worked out.
Please support the forum! Tell others by linking to it on your blog or website:<a href="http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/forum/">Crystal Reports Forum</a>
IP IP Logged
Edmund-B

Quote Edmund-B Replybullet Posted: 05 Aug 2008 at 2:00am
So Brian, your saying my local windows user doesnt have enough permissions to access the database?