Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: CR9 novice stuck on a chart - please help Post Reply Post New Topic
tdaplyn

Online Status: Offline
Quote tdaplyn Replybullet Topic: CR9 novice stuck on a chart - please help
    Posted: 18 Jun 2008 at 9:14am
Hi,
I'm new to the whole CR/Reporting domain although I have many year's experience in SQL. I'm just about getting the hang of it all and beginning to trust that CR data engine is doing what I expect (trust issues after being so used to working with SQL directly).

However I'm stuck trying to produce a particular chart. It's easy in Excel so I'm sure it can be done..

Easiest explained by example:
Sample Data:

Gender PizzaScore ItalianScore SushiScore
M 1 5 8
M 2 2 5
F 7 5 6
M 8 2 2
F 2 4 4
F 7 2 9
F 1 9 4
M 5 7 1
F 8 3 2
F 9 2 6
M 4 9 7
M 3 8 8
F 2 3 7
M 8 5 4

The chart I want:

I can obviously group on Gender, and can calculate summary averages for each of the 3 columns but I can't figure out how to get the column averages on the x-axis. Crystal wants Gender to be on the x-axis. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Thanks,
Tim
IP IP Logged
tdaplyn

Quote tdaplyn Replybullet Posted: 20 Jun 2008 at 3:06am
No-one got any ideas? I've still not figured it out after much playing. It's driving me a bit nuts that I can't seem to express what I want.
My next attempt is going to be to try to do something horrific in SQL to try to massage the data into the orientation that Crystal seems to need. I'm a bit dissappointed with Crystal if I'm honest, but perhaps I just haven't 'got it' yet.
Advice appreciated.
Thanks,
Tim
IP IP Logged
tdaplyn

Quote tdaplyn Replybullet Posted: 20 Jun 2008 at 3:52am
Doing some more searches (having found the correct terminology to use) it appears that some versions of crystal reports have a chart option "swap series and groups" which should do the job.
Unfortunately for me that option does not seem to exist in CR9 so I'm still stuck.