Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2016 : Technical Questions  
Message Icon Topic: Suppress records on conditionally suppressed field Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
thummel1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 139
Quote thummel1 Replybullet Topic: Suppress records on conditionally suppressed field
    Posted: Yesterday at 9:33am
I am using CR2013. My report is grouped by Employee ID. There are 40 columns and in each column, there is a suppression formula being applied to hide any records where the record is in: ['ESSRole','PortalUser','BatchRole','PLPrdAccess','MSSRole']
OR
if the running total (I have a running total for each of the 40 columns)is >=1.

My next step is to identify ONLY the employees where SOMETHING is still being displayed in any of the 40 columns. For example, Bob has one record still displaying in column 18. He should still appear on the report. Sarah has no records appearing in any of the 40 columns, so she should be hidden. Is this possible? I attempted to try and conditionally suppress within the group any of the columns that are null, but technically, they are not null, so nothing is being suppressed.

All thoughts are welcome.

Edited by thummel1 - Yesterday at 9:34am
"Press any key to continue. Where's the 'Any' Key?" ~Homer Simpson
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1373
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: Yesterday at 11:49am
If they are not null, what are they?  If they are zero length strings, you can check for this.
IP IP Logged
thummel1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2012
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 139
Quote thummel1 Replybullet Posted: Today at 6:24am
They appear to still be not null, and they still return the same length string. I decided to try and apply the same suppression in the group within the Section expert. It seemed to be working there until I got to column 6 of 40. Suddenly all records appeared again instead of only returning those that had something in any of the preceding columns. I assumed there must be an error in one of my 3 'column 6' formulas, but I didn't see anything, leading me to think there's an error elsewhere that's interpreting data differently than I'm expecting. I'll keep digging into this, thanks
"Press any key to continue. Where's the 'Any' Key?" ~Homer Simpson
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1373
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: Today at 1:04pm
Be sure to have 'Convert Database NULL Values to Default' under Options or in the formula editor have the 'Default Values for Nulls' selected.


Edited by kevlray - Today at 1:05pm
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.