Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Add Parameter Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
CrystalGirl
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Feb 2015
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 36
Quote CrystalGirl Replybullet Topic: Add Parameter
    Posted: 20 Sep 2016 at 5:24am
Hello,

I am trying to add three of of these fields (Score_#1_Pass, Score_#2_Pass, Score_#2_Pass) below a report parameter. Here are the fields from a table.

Student_Name Score_#1_Pass Score_#2_Pass Score_#2_Pass     
Andy          Y          Y          N
Steve          Y          N          Y
Jack          Y          Y          Y
Linda          Y          N          N
Marry          N          N          Y
Sam          Y          Y          N
Leo          Y          N          Y

What I am trying to do is to make a score parameter, so when I open
the report, the parameter will have three values, Score_#1_Pass, Score_#2_Pass, and Score_#3_Pass and they are only set to Y. So when I chose value of Score_#1_Pass, it will only give me all Student with Y passing. The same option for Score_#2_Pass, when
Select Score_#2_Pass, it will give me student with Y passing score of Score_#2_Pass.
If I choose Score_#3_Pass, it will give me student with Y passing.

So the parameter will have three values:
Score_#1_Pass
Score_#2_Pass
Score_#3_Pass

How do I achieve this?

Edited by CrystalGirl - 20 Sep 2016 at 5:34am
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 7:14am
Try this:

1. Create a parameter with the following information:

Name: Passing Score
Type: String
List of Values: Static
Add the following values to the list of values:
    "Score #1"
    "Score #2"
    "Score #3"
Prompt Text: "Select the passing score to search for:"
Allow Custom Values: False
Allow Multiple Values: False

Leave all of the other parameter properties at their default values.

2. Put something like the following formula in the Select Expert in addition to whatever other criteria you may have there (parentheses are very important here!):

(
({?Passing Score} = "Score #1" and {Table.Score_#1_Pass} = 'Y')
OR
({?Passing Score} = "Score #2" and {Table.Score_#2_Pass} = 'Y')
OR
({?Passing Score} = "Score #3" and {Table.Score_#3_Pass} = 'Y')
)

-Dell
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.