Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Utilizing Two Independent Date Fields as Parameter Post Reply Post New Topic
Charles Murphy

Online Status: Offline
Quote Charles Murphy Replybullet Topic: Utilizing Two Independent Date Fields as Parameter
    Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 1:35am
I am very new to Crystal Reports (only a couple of months) and I am trying to create a report that is presenting a scenario that I don’t quite know where to begin.
I am using Crystal Reports XI and in my database I have a table {REQUEST} and within this table I have 4 date fields (DateTimeInit, DateSubmitTo, DateComplete and DateTimeClosed). I am trying to create a comparison report (with a chart) to reflect how many service requests were initiated during a date range (regardless of completion date) and how many service requests were completed during the same date range (regardless of the initiated date). What I have found is by creating an initiated start date and initiated end date parameter fields as well as creating a completed start date and completed end date parameter fields, they work together as an “AND” statement. This results in service requests that were initiated AND completed during the date range. I need the report to show ALL service requests that were initiated during the date range as well as ALL service requests that were completed within the same date range. Is this something that can be accomplished within Crystal Reports or will I have to use something like SQL Developer to create a “View” for my database?
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 04 Aug 2015 at 7:52am
If I understand you correctly,
you can use an OR statement in the select process however that is still leaving you with only one row that may meet both conditions.