Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Cross Tab with Date Ranges Post Reply Post New Topic
aliryder

Online Status: Offline
Quote aliryder Replybullet Topic: Cross Tab with Date Ranges
    Posted: 20 May 2015 at 3:38pm
Hi there, I'm new to the forums so I apologize if this is somewhere; I'm also new to Crystal so I'm not even sure what to search for.

Basically, I have a database that stores date ranges, not individual dates, so we have table.StartDate and table.EndDate. Something like bookings in a hotel, with a check in and check out.

What I want to do is lookup, if there were 10 rooms, how many rooms were occupied on X date?

What I would like to do is show, for every date in a range (i.e. this month, or this year), how many rooms were full. (I have more than 10 rooms and I want to sort and group them in different ways, hence the cross-tab)

So I can enter the parameters to show the range I want to show, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to say "for every day in range, was the room full or empty?

Any help would be great. Like I said, I'm very new to Crystal, so even a really obvious answer might help.

Thanks!
IP IP Logged
Erik
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Erik Replybullet Posted: 21 May 2015 at 5:53am
This sounds a little tricky because I presume that a particular room will have multiple entries for start date and end date specific to each visit.

Is there another identifier in the table for something like visit ID? You'll probably need to tie start date and end date together with this ID to make sure you aren't comparing 2 different visits' start date and end date.

It would also be helpful to know if there is a max # of days for a particular visit to determine the max span of days to look for the end date after the start date.

More questions than answers at this point...
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 21 May 2015 at 5:56am