Message Icon Topic: SQL Expression field Post Reply Post New Topic
lolly54
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Quote lolly54 Replybullet Topic: SQL Expression field
    Posted: 31 Jan 2014 at 5:12am
Hi All,

I cannot create a stored procedure on the DB and any DB changes would take up to three months.

I am trying to write a SQL in my report to return a field. I have never used SQL expression before and whatever I tried, it returned with error.

Not as simple as this work:

(
SELECT Case.Case_Owner
FROM Case
WHERE Case.Case_NUMBER = "12345"
)

I have done some searches for SQL expression sample but it didn't seem to help. Would you have a good document or sample I can learn from?

Many thanks and Happy CNY!

IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 31 Jan 2014 at 5:22am
to my knowledge, SQL Expressions are basically an optimized formula as they try to push the execution of the formula onto the server rather than in crystal after the data has been pulled already.
Your example is really more akin to creating a data set for the report. This can be done using a Command object which is more like a stored procedure. The simplicity of the one you have entered would be just as easily handled by using the CASE able as yor data source and adding the record select formula of Case.Case_NUMBER = "12345"

Edited by DBlank - 31 Jan 2014 at 5:23am
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 31 Jan 2014 at 5:38am