Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Cascade parameters transferd to stored proc Post Reply Post New Topic
bossp

Online Status: Offline
Quote bossp Replybullet Topic: Cascade parameters transferd to stored proc
    Posted: 21 Mar 2013 at 3:36am
Hi, I am a beginner with Crystal report and I found this forum by searching for my problem.

I want to have  a three parameters cascade which I would like to pass on the store proc ot just the last paramter of the cascade but the three parameters. So I can use the first parameter or the second parameter in my stored proc depending on the users choice to see all the info from the first paramter or the second or the thirs paramater.

Exemple if I have country, region and city. If the user decides to see information at the country level he would only select  the country from the list and no selection of region and city and the stored proc would get all info on country only. So is there a way to transfer only the the country to the store proc. I have tried many things but did not find a way to do this.

Thanks to whom will respond.
Pierre
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 21 Mar 2013 at 9:37am
No.  Crystal will not allow you to pass "nulls" to a Stored Proc.  So, in order to do this, you will have to have 3 parameters in the Stored Proc that will look for some default value to mean "all" and behave accordingly.  Then you'll set the default value of all of the prompts to the default value that you've set up in the Stored Proc.

-Dell
IP IP Logged
bossp

Quote bossp Replybullet Posted: 22 Mar 2013 at 2:57am
HI Hilfy, I thing my question was not corerctly explained.