Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: SQL connection missing table fields Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
benwsear

Online Status: Offline
Quote benwsear Replybullet Topic: SQL connection missing table fields
    Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 5:25am
Hello all. I'm new to Crystal XI and am trying to connect to a dataset to run some reports from it. The problem is I can connect to the tables but some fields are not present in my Field Explorer.

The connection I am using is called 'OLE DB ADO - Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL server' and is connecting to a Microsoft Dynamics NAV system.

The fields that are missing are classed as decimal data type in NAV. However, some other decimal types are appearing as numbers etc.

Is this a problem with Crystal XI not being able to see decimal field types? Or is it something else?

I can't really change the field types in NAV to number (or something like that) as it is a huge system and I am only tasked with reporting from it.

Has anyone got any ideas about how to see the missing fields in Crystal? Any help would be much appreciated.

P.S. I'm using Crystal 11 v 11.0.0.1282 and my connection is direct to the data source using the above SQL provider.

Many thanks for any help in advance. Ben.

Edited by benwsear - 14 Aug 2012 at 5:30am
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 6:35am
The only times I have had an issue with seeing fields in CR is if there is an security issue with the database.  I wish I had a better answer.
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 14 Aug 2012 at 11:31am
Usually the OLEDb driver for SQL Server works best, but might want to try to create an ODBC connection to the database and determine whether you can see the fields using that instead of the OLEDb connection.

-Dell
IP IP Logged
benwsear